Historic happenings

I feel like the past 36 h or so has been....one of the wildest rides ever. 
-
I, as many others, sat up late watching the presidential election on Tuesday night. It was very cozy, laying in bed with my tablet and listening to the news reports on the TV in the background. But then I got super tired and fell asleep with the TV still going, with low volume. I woke up at around 1:30 ish and decided to turn in off, feeling reassured that when I woke up later that morning, I'd wake up to good news. 
But no. The first thing I did when I woke up a few hours later was to check the news. At first I couldn't sort it all out (since there was SO many articles going around), but when I read the sentence "The streets of New York are completely silent"....then it hit me. He had won. I texted Mom "Are you awake?" and then called her. Chocked, we talked about what had just happened. And the only thing going around in my head was just that "this CAN'T be happening". 
-
I got ready to head to Uni and as I stepped outside, I got struck by the next chock. Snow. A LOT OF SNOW. And I immediately got 10x happier. This is my 3rd winter in Stockholm, and I've never seen this much snow here. It was so beautiful.
 




So I got to Uni safely (basically no roads had been plowed because Stockholm suck so that was an adventure in it's own), had my class and then went back home. Most of the class I spent looking outside though. I mean, can you blame me?
 
 

And the snow just kept falling, and piling up. When I read that ALL busses had been cancelled (before it was just some of them that had been cancelled) and that the subway had major delays etc I got a little bit worried how I was supposed to get to Sofia's. We had decided to have a cozy night at her place with a nice dinner and hot chocolate. I left my apartment and met up with her at TC and then we went out to her place. We had to change trains in Åkeshov, and the snow on the platform hadn't been shoveled away so we had to step out in ½ meter of snow. It felt like a joke, and I couldn't stop laughing.
-
But yeah, we had a fabulous evening together. We talked about the presidential election (ofc), how Stockholm sucks and handling typical Swedish weather (read: snow) and just other random things. Oh and scented candles. Specifically pizza scented candles. Which we have copy righted btw.
 
A bit too late guys but ok.....

 
-
No but all in all, it's almost been a surreal last 36h hours. They say that yesterday's snow broke all records for  Stockholm for the past 111 years. It's like the weather gods felt the shift of power across the Atlantic Ocean. I feel a weird mix of feelings at the moment. Worry, hopelessness, anger...but also a sense of community in this chaos. And that's a precious feeling I'm gonna hold on to in uncertain times like this. 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0