7/4/2017

Yesterday became quite an unforgettable day. I had gone to Uni quite early and sat in the library writing between 10 ish and 14 ish. Then I moved over to the Geo buildings to sit there and eat lunch and study some Korean. At 15:11 I got a message from Mom asking if I was at Åhléns. I was like "eeh noo?" but I understood that something must've happened so I checked the news. And I remember how I froze when I read the headlines. I continued reading a bit and then decided to gather my stuff and try to get back home.
-
I immediately saw that the subway had stopped running so I went to the busstop to get on a buss. There were ALOT of people already standing there and in the midst of it all a guy comes up to me and asked me if he could borrow my phone to make a call. He didn't speak Swedish and was going to Värtahamnen to catch a ferry with his friends to Riga, but his phone must've died and he couldn't contact them and since the subway was down he was kinda stressed. I let him borrow my phone and we got on the packed bus together. On the way I helped him look up alternative routes to the harbour and he got off before me at at Roslagsgatan.
-
I rode a few more stops and got off at Stadsbiblioteket. And then...I started walking. I walked passed Odenplan, St. Eriksplan, over to Kungsholmen and passed Fridhemsplan, through Rålandshovsparken, across Västerbron and then I was home in Hornstull. I have no idea how long it took...probably over one hour.
I've never seen Stockholm like this, it was like everyone was out on the streets, all the roads were completely clogged up going out of the city while the roads to the center of the city were completely empty. People walked fast, with determined and worried faces. Everyone was on their phones, checking the updates. The whole situation was surreal.
-
After getting home, the first thing I did was to call my Mom. Then I sat in bed watching the news report and reading the news articles for the nights. The guy I had helped on the bus messaged me later on the night and told me that he made it in time for the ferry, and thanked me for helping him out. That made me a little bit happier. Felt a bit uneasy the rest of the night though, but I got some hours of sleep at least.
-
I am fine. I'm just sad for the victims of this attack and the people directly affected by what happened yesterday.
I gave myself the day off today aswell but tomorrow I'll get back to studying. 
 

Yesterday, walking across Västerbron.

It doesn't show up very good on photo, but you can kind of see the mass of people walking ahead of me. Insane.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Amanda

En mycket märklig dag minst sagt. Jag var hemma i lägenheten hela eftermiddagen vilket var skönt men det kändes också väldigt ensamt. I allt det otäcka väcktes också någonting fint i och med #openStockholm osv. Kärlek.

Svar: Jaaa åh... Blev mycket blandade känslor hela helgen verkligen <3
Johanna Lundgren

2017-04-09 @ 15:37:59

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0